WHAT TO TRANSLATE? “Joker: Yurusarezu Sousakan” OR “Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku”

I received word from my translation manager at DramaCrazy that I’m to start translating one of two new late summer season Japanese dramas! In case you didn’t see when I said earlier, I recently finished translating the series “Tumbling” from late spring / early summer, and now we’ll be moving into the late summer / early fall season of dramas.  She asked me if I wanted to do Joker: Yurusarezu Sousakan or Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku.

To make a long story short, Joker is about a detective who’s calm and collected by day, but a violent punisher of criminals by night.  It looks like it’ll be pretty interesting, and a nice change of pace from Tumbling’s themes of friendship and determination. I just watched the first episode Raw (meaning no subtitles… of course, I’ll probably be making them so they don’t exist yet), and I can say that it’ll also be really good for my Japanese listening skills. The vocabulary is advanced and the themes are mature, so it’ll really teach me how to listen to a much different aspect of Japanese than Tumbling did (not that there was anything wrong with Tumbling, it’s just that Yankee Japanese has its limits as far as where it takes you in life).

The other drama is Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku:

This seems to me like a pretty typical love story, but I’m not totally sure what it’s about to be perfectly honest. I know the main actor is Matsumoto Jun, so it should have a pretty big following.  I’m not sure who the girl is yet, I’ll have to watch an episode to find out. It’s a little difficult for me to want to watch another romance right after Tsuki No Koibito (Kimutaku), so we’ll see if I end up doing this one.

As of right now, I think I’d rather translate Joker, that one seems like a lot of fun to me, but to be fair I’ll have to watch both before I decide.

What would you guys rather see me translate? Don’t be afraid to voice your opinion!

2 responses

  1. dei

    Please translate and sub JOKER, please? *__*

    August 6, 2010 at 10:27 am

  2. Elliott

    thanks, i appreciate the encouragement. I actually have been meaning to post about this for a while, but I’m not the translator for Joker anymore. The drama took me too long for each episode and I didn’t actually have time to do it, so I moved to a different drama that would be a little bit easier. I’m sorry, it’s a good drama, I hope someone else is doing it so you can enjoy!

    August 6, 2010 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

